Photo courtesy: Mettagood

A lip balm maker’s mission to treat our bodies well~ MettaGood, SF

Akshaya D
SKUE RIGHT
Published in
3 min readAug 29, 2019

--

Metta is the meditative practice of cultivating loving-kindness. That’s the philosophy of METTA GOOD, the San Francisco business that creates handmade, small batch, artisan lip balms, inspired by love and nature. Check out our interview with Nicole, the woman behind @mettagood

SKUE: Thanks for joining us @mettagood! We’re wondering — what initially inspired you to create Metta Good?

NICOLE: So many things! A belief and a desire to get back to nature and treat our bodies well by using natural products on our skin. Our skin absorbs whatever we put on it in only 10 minutes! I for sure don’t want synthetics, fragrances, alcohols, and petroleum running through my bloodstream. I decided to create whole ingredient lip balm‘s and face masks for myself and people. We all deserve clean skin care.

Secondly, I’m passionate about plants, design, and working with my hands. This business marries all my interests and talents.

Thirdly, I want my son to see that I created a business that I love and feel passionate about every day. ❤️

SKUE: So many good reasons! ❤️ What is one thing you wish you would have known when you started out making natural skin products?

NICOLE: How labor-intensive it is! It takes me just as long to make a batch as it does to label it. Currently, I trade my friends dinner and wine for help otherwise I’m doing it all by myself. I look forward to the day that I can hire my first person.💫

SKUE: Truly #handmade! Final question for you: What is one thing buyers need to know about your collection?

NICOLE: All my products are made with whole ingredients and kept in their purest form. I am proud of the quality in my products. I worked on the recipe for my lip balm for two years and the consistency really is outstanding. 💋 It is smooth, soft and stays on for a long time. It nourishes dry lips and there is a scent for everyone, though my Rose 🌹Cardamom is my most popular lip balm. 😍 There are a lot of yummy essential oil‘s in my products. 🌱 My unsung hero is my activated charcoal face mask with sea kelp, white clay, and hand ground chamomile flowers. I take it off with my bamboo velour double-sided black face cloth. It really is a great experience to use both together. 💫 I plan to release more products in the future so stay tuned!

SKUE: We certainly will! Thanks so much for your time 😊

Every week we do live interviews on Instagram with our makers before featuring them here. Are you interested in joining our wholesale collective? Apply at skue.co/makers

--

--