How Marja of MGG Studio Keeps it Minimal

Annie May Johnston
SKUE RIGHT
Published in
3 min readMar 26, 2018

--

In this maker-to-maker interview series, we had the pleasure of discussing design, retail and wholesale with Marja of MGG Studio, a jewelry line valuing good design that goes in hand with sustainability. MGG Studio uses recycled and fair-mined metals well as ethically-sourced diamonds in the handmade jewelry.

Annie (SKUE): Hi Marja, so glad I get to chat with you today about your practice! I noticed that some of the pieces you create fit almost architecturally around the body — the u-shape encompassing the earlobes and the curves reflecting the ear structure in the photo featured here — can you tell me more about what inspires the designs for MGG Studio?

Marja: Thanks so much for the opportunity! You really hit the nail in the head with your observation about my designs.

I’m drawn to bold and geometric forms, but it’s super important to me that they feel as good as they look.

That’s why I’m always thinking about how the pieces will wear- both their appearance and their feel on your body. For example - I try to make sure that although my earrings make a statement, they’re lightweight enough for everyday wear; and that my substantial rings are deliciously soft on the inside so that they’re an actual pleasure to have on!

Annie: Yes! I love your chunky geometric stacking rings, they look like they have a fantastic weight while being perfect for daily wear. I noticed that your items are carried in a quite a few shops in the Bay Area, what have you learned by selling in stores?

Marja: I’ve learned that for me it’s all about cultivating and maintaining strong relationships.

I really feel that my relationships with my retailers are partnerships- my job in the partnership is to deliver a great product in a timely manner and stay on top of communication.

That leaves my retail partners free to do their job, which is to promote and sell my work to a wider audience than I would be able to reach on my own!

Annie: Those relationships to retailers are so key! The way you choose and source the sustainable metals and diamonds for your jewelry is very important to you, how does the material influence your product and vice versa?

Marja: I’ve been lucky to work with suppliers that also put a premium on ethical sourcing of raw materials, so (for the most part) I’ve been able to find the materials I want for the designs I have in mind. I do end up rejecting some designs because I couldn’t make them in a way that was aligned with a sustainable position, but I’m ok with that.

I’m not 100% where I want to be in terms of sustainability in my jewelry, but I see it as a challenge that I can keep working on!

Annie: Thank you so much Marja, we look forward to helping you with your wholesale career!

Every week we do live interviews on Instagram with our makers before featuring them here. Are you interested in joining our wholesale collective? Apply at skue.co/makers

--

--

Annie May Johnston
SKUE RIGHT

Artist and designer with her MFA from UT Austin. Biz dev + program management for SKUE. Interior pattern paintings: motifamj.com fine art: anniemayjohnston.com