Less Store, More ‘Americana Exhibit’~Marion + Rose Fine Goods

Akshaya D
SKUE RIGHT
Published in
3 min readSep 12, 2019

--

Marion + Rose Fine Goods is a lifestyle boutique in Oakland, CA filled with American Made objects for living a life surrounded by comfort, craftsmanship and love. You can find a variety of carefully selected items by innovative designers, artisans, and craftspeople, showcasing items made with care and consciousness. Today we’re excited to be chatting with Kerri, the founder of @marionandrose!

SKUE: Thanks so much for joining us Kerri! I’m curious — how has your background as an artist influenced which products you bring into the store?

KERRI: ✨Hello✨ thank you so much for having me! This is fun! .
.✨✨my background as an artist has a big influence on my purchasing for the shop. I approach the shop more like a curated art exhibit( I know that word “curated” gets a bit over used these days) I want the new items to work with the existing products and I want everything to have a space. Aesthetic wise — packaging and presentation of the product is very important. If the packaging detracts from the item then I am less likely to add it into the fold. I am looking for quality first and foremost, if I wouldn’t want to own it, then I am not going to sell it. ✨✨

SKUE: That’s a great buying philosophy 😊. With that in mind, what do you wish makers would make more of?

KERRI: ✨that’s a hard question to answer. It depends on the season! I am always on the lookout for new cards/ stationery, my customers are very savvy and always want new designs. As far as products, I love when my vendors come up with new products and designs. Watching a maker evolve and push their creativity is exciting for me and my customers.

Kerri recently closed her shop after eight years. We are so sad to see her go but also excited about the new collaborations that she has planned.

In her own words:
Eight years is long time to do anything, I am proud of what I have built and I cherish all of the relationships I’ve forged with all my vendors and customers. I will be taking some time to regroup and figure out my next steps, but working with creative people is in my blood, so we will see where my soul takes me next. The online shop will be closed for the time being. I will still be posting on Instagram, so please follow @marionandrose to see my new adventures and projects. ✨

Every week we do live interviews on Instagram @skue.co with our makers & buyers before featuring them here. Interested in joining our wholesale collective? Apply at skue.co/merchants

--

--