The Story of a Luxury Bag Lady and Her Store~ Adelle Stoll

Akshaya D
SKUE RIGHT
Published in
3 min readSep 12, 2019

--

Adelle Stoll, a maker and retailer recently opened her flagship store at The Barlow in Sebastopol. @adellestoll has a successful line of eco-friendly luxury bags from upcycled felt as well as modern leather goods. In this interview we chat about her journey, recent store closing due to a natural disaster. Adelle is currently in the process of moving to a new location.

SKUE: We’re so inspired to hear that you opened up a store! What made you take the leap? What challenges do you expect?

ADELLE: Hey thanks for the love, I’m happy to share my story. After three years of building my brand through craft events, strategic partnerships and trade shows it felt like I was ready to have a home base. A place where I could create an environment for my designs to live and be shown to their best advantage. I also needed a studio space and was incredibly lucky to find a place @thebarlow707where I could sell and make. The challenge is that I work 7 days a week and have a family so stamina is the key.

SKUE: That’s some stamina! What new habit had a positive impact on your business in the past 5 years?

ADELLE: I made a commitment to post on my social channels on a more regular basis. Instagram is my favorite and boy do I love portrait mode. It’s been the best way for my peeps to stay in the loop without being bugged by email blasts.

SKUE: Yes! Love that answer. Last question — What kind of makers would you like to work with or bring into your store?

ADELLE: Well, I am currently showing @sarahliller and @nettlestudios clothing as well as @evelynknightjewelrybecause they do amazing work and they are Bay Area local. I also find a bit of clothing helps show off accessories. I have always envisioned AS as a wine country modern lifestyle collection of original goods made right here in Sonoma County. Until that day comes I’m happy to showcase local jewelry designers and clothing designers that harmonize with my aesthetic. Makers are near and dear to my ❤️ so I’m sure there will always be a place for others to shine in my shop. We are in this together…right😊

SKUE: Yes we are in this together! Looking forward to seeing where your business goes and collaborating in the future.

ADELLE: Thank you so much 😘

Every week we do live interviews on Instagram @skue.co with our makers & buyers before featuring them here. Interested in joining our wholesale collective? Apply at skue.co/merchants

--

--