POETRY / PROMPT

Clearing the Shelves

Sky Collection Prompt #31: Cycles of Darkness

Jupiter Grant
Sky Collection
Published in
2 min readNov 8, 2021

--

Photo by Jeremy Mura on Unsplash

A serpent shedding and discarding old and roughened skin,
I clear away the debris on both outside and within,
to start again afresh, reborn, all shiny and pristine,
and give my grey and tarnished self a bold new healthy sheen.

And yet there is a lot of me that’s lost along the way,
for in my flesh and mind is left an imprint of each day
collected, sometimes curated, more often kept a mystery;
a museum of the Self that holds the archives of my history.

There are some shiny trophies I’ve collected o’er the years,
but with them also I’ve amassed a wealth of pain and tears.
Their purpose served, these gloomy trinkets sit amongst the treasures,
hallmarks of times of darkness amid mem’ries of great pleasure.

I cannot keep them all with me, nor hoard them all forever;
to bear their weight through every day would be a fool’s endeavour.
And so instead I clear the decks and throw away the remnants
of times now passed and trials I’ve faced for which I’ve done my penance.

--

--

Jupiter Grant
Sky Collection

Writer, Poet, Narrator, Freelancer. Living in UK & my own head. Send queries here: jupiterslair@gmail.com. Buy me a coffee here: https://ko-fi.com/jupitergrant