Facing my Bully

A poem of courage found.

--

“People are hard to hate close up. Move in. Speak truth to bullshit. Be civil. Hold hands. With strangers. Strong back. Soft front. Wild heart.” — Brené Brown

Photo by Mike Labrum on Unsplash

You brought darkness back into my life
cut me off from my joy, my spiritual union,
you, the leader of the pack, the loudest voice
posing as wise, knowing, compassionate, a self
declared healer of all who come near you, yet I found
you care not a jot for anything but your reputation.

You accosted me twice, forcing me to make
physical contact with an energy field I know to be
hate filled and full of pride, power control.
All it takes for evil to take hold
is for a few good people to do nothing to stop it,
laughing it off ‘oh that is just xxxx being xxxx’,

Not such a subtle form of victim shaming.
I felt defeated, downhearted, worthless.
looked deeply into my self, and found something
else, hiding in the shadows, courage, resilience,
determination never to be beaten.
I saw you as a little boy, scared, powerless too.

--

--

Sylvia Clare MSc. Psychol, mindfulness teacher
Sky Collection

mindfulness essayist, poet, advocate for mental health and compassionate living, author of ‘No Visible Injuries’, ‘Living Well and Loving ADHD’ and many others