Rest In Peace?

A poem: Desecration of cemeteries

Johannes Mudi
Sky Collection
Nov 10, 2020

--

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Term served, and hours run under the cool scorching sun
A toiling in seemingly endless routine from dusk to dawn
Often dazed from days of drenching demanding drills
What pain and gain accompanied the trail
But at last a peaceful rest I seek
Or so I thought I would receive
This is not to be
For they assailed me in my sleep
Disarming my members and carting away my peace
Should the dead suffer at the hands of the living
Leaving the bereaved to renew their mourning?
Let the dead enjoy their death
And the living earnestly earn their daily bread

--

--

Johannes Mudi
Sky Collection

BA.Ed (History); LLB (Common Law). I started writing and fell in love and now I can't stop. Writer - Poet mudijohannes@gmail.com