13 Other Ways To Say “It’s Five O’Clock Somewhere”

Refreshing excuses you can use at any time

Allison Kelley
Slackjaw

--

Photo by Jess Low from Pexels
  1. I’m sorry I’m an hour late! It’s daylight saving time somewhere!

2. I know I’m a grown adult and I shouldn’t be scared to go to work, but somewhere it’s Sunday night.

3. Oh, you’re planning on wearing white to my wedding? I know I don’t have the congressional authority, but I’m declaring war. It’s 0:500 hours somewhere.

4. I respect that we’re at this memorial service for your grandpa, but I need to watch a primetime, procedural drama. It’s 8/7 central somewhere!

5. Despite how unflattering they are, I’m going to buy these low-rise jeans. Fashion is cyclical and it’s 1999 somewhere.

6. Excuse me, ladies and gentleman, can I have your attention? I know it’s rush hour and we’re on a speeding train, but can I offer anyone some scalding Oolong from my thermos?? It’s tea time somewhere!

7. I understand we’re at the Louvre and the security guard just said, “You can’t touch this,” but I’m going to anyway! It’s Hammer Time somewhere!

8. Look, I agree there’s an awful smell coming from the fridge. And yes, there’s a 99% chance it’s my fish stew leftovers. But how mad can you really get? It’s…

--

--

Allison Kelley
Slackjaw

Brooklyn-based writer raised in the Connecticut suburbs. Words at Slate, Washington Post, McSweeney’s Internet Tendency / subscribe: https://boththings.substack