55 Baby Names Using T-A-R-G-E-T

Just please don’t name your child Gater.

Ashley Clayton Kay
Slackjaw

--

Illustration by Emily Clouse

I love to hate on baby names, and I hate how much I love going to Target. So I made a list of baby names using only the letters in the word Target, because this is what my brain does on a workday evening. You’re welcome.

Aer

You’re feeling elemental, breezy. It’s fresh. It’s air but spelled like a teenager wanted to change the spelling of her name; you could get ahead of that.

Art, Arte

Doesn’t have to be short for Arthur. Maybe you’re hoping your child will be artistic. Maybe, like all parents, you feel your child is a work of art. Maybe not like a Michelangelo work of art, but at least a Picasso.

Aret, Arett

This one sounds like someone’s shipping two YA characters named Aaron and Harriett.

Era

If you’ve ever considered naming your child something like Gen Z, please use Era instead.

Erga

Haul little Erga around in your Ergobaby carrier. It’s perfect. Use your daughter’s name in place of “ergo” in sentences to practice your Latin and be a Feminist. “I entered Target to buy one thing, Erga spent $75.”

Erta, Ertta

--

--

Ashley Clayton Kay
Slackjaw

Writing with heart, humor, & humanity = what I do in theory. Writing while eating ice cream out of coffee mugs = what I do in practice.