A Critical Analysis Of Some Of The Eagles’ Most Culturally Significant Literary Works

The complicated plot is full of antagonists (“I’ve got seven women on my mind / Four that wanna own me / Two that wanna stone me / One says she’s a friend of mine”).

Rowdy Geirsson
Slackjaw

--

Photo by youngrobv

Take It Easy

An exemplary entry into the canon of literary crime fiction, Take It Easy drops us directly into the fast-paced dealings of the criminal underworld from the very first sentence (“Well, I’m running down the road / Tryin’ to loosen my load”).

From there the piece effectively constructs a complicated plot full of highly believable antagonists and secondary characters (“I’ve got seven women on my mind / Four that wanna own me / Two that wanna stone me / One says she’s a friend of mine”).

The criminal conflict at the core of the piece gradually intensifies (“Lighten up while you still can / Don’t even try to understand / Just find a place to make your stand”) creating a superb sense of foreboding (“We may lose, and we may win / Though we will never be here again”) as the protagonist rushes headlong towards the gut-wrenching and inevitable betrayal at the height of the piece’s shocking conclusion (“Got a world of trouble on my mind /…

--

--

Rowdy Geirsson
Slackjaw

Promoting Leif Eriksson awareness and failing. Atrocities beyond the Medium Bubble at Metal Sucks, McSweeney’s & Points in Case. www.scandinavianaggression.com