A Cup of Coffee Meets a Bagel

Irving Ruan
Slackjaw
Published in
3 min readMay 23, 2017

COFFEE: Hi, are you Bagel?

BAGEL: Yeah, you must be Coffee. Nice to meet you.

(They hug. Coffee accidentally burns Bagel.)

COFFEE: Sorry!

BAGEL: It’s fine.

(There is an awkward silence.)

COFFEE: How’s your day going?

BAGEL: It’s all right. Doubt I’ll make it alive until tomorrow. Bakery’s still open for another two hours.

COFFEE: Yikes. Well, it’s nice to finally meet you. You…look different from your picture.

BAGEL: Excuse me?

COFFEE: (steam drops gather on Coffee’s forehead) No, I didn’t mean it that way. It’s just that your picture showed that you have sesame seeds and sun-dried blueberries.

BAGEL: It’s an old photo from this morning.

COFFEE: Look, it’s not like I have anything against plain whole wheat. I just wasn’t expecting this.

BAGEL: Hey, fuck you.

(Coffee perspires more.)

BAGEL (cont’d): Sorry, that was uncalled for. It’s been a stressful day. My whole family died by lunchtime.

COFFEE: I had no idea…I’m sorry. Look, you seem nice. We clearly got off on the wrong foot. Let’s just start over, OK?

BAGEL: (takes deep breath) OK.

COFFEE: So, tell me a bit about yourself.

BAGEL: Well, I’ve lived in the same town for all my life. Currently in between jobs, but I’m hoping to eventually move out of this bakery. Maybe go gluten-free, I don’t know?

COFFEE: Yeah, totally. There’s a whole world out there, waiting to be explored. Life’s too short to be living in the same bakery your whole life.

BAGEL: Yeah! Wow, nobody’s been able to really understand me. Not even my BFF, sourdough.

COFFEE: Really? I feel the exact same way.

BAGEL: I can’t believe we didn’t meet sooner. I feel like I could talk to you for hours, even over the noise of the espresso machine.

COFFEE: Me too.

(There is an awkward silence.)

BAGEL: Do you have any favorite shows on Netflix?

COFFEE: I love Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt. That show is hilarious.

BAGEL: I love that show! I’m currently re-watching Gilmore Girls. I can be such a Lorelai sometimes.

(There is another awkward silence.)

COFFEE: What are you doing after?

BAGEL: Not much.

COFFEE: Want to join me for a drink at my place and watch House Hunters?

(Bagel blushes and twirls its dough.)

BAGEL: Yeah, I’d like that.

BARISTA: Order for Beth! One plain whole wheat bagel with a large non-fat soy vanilla latte!

COFFEE: You’ve got to be kidding me. You’re also seeing Latte?

BAGEL: Hey, I’m keeping my options open. Latte’s got a lot to offer, after all. Who wouldn’t want a dash of cream, frothiness, and empty calories?

COFFEE: So, essentially a fuckboy?

BAGEL: Yeah, basically.

COFFEE: …

BAGEL: You’re a nice cup, but I’m not looking for anything serious right now. It was nice meeting you, though!

LATTE: Later bro!

Bagel and Latte leave with Beth.

COFFEE: Fuck this bakery.

Hey you! Would you like to receive a monthly newsletter of 5 funny reads I’ve personally curated, free of charge? If so, then you should subscribe to my newsletter, Irving’s Igloo!

--

--

Irving Ruan
Slackjaw

SF-based comedy writer. Words in The New Yorker, McSweeney’s, Funny Or Die, CollegeHumor, and elsewhere. http://irvingruan.com