A Dating Glossary By A Mother With A Stubbornly Childless Daughter

I just want what’s best for me: a grandbaby.

Megan Broussard
Slackjaw

--

Photo by BBH Singapore on Unsplash

Playing Hard to Get: A dating strategy I instilled in my daughter Jenny that I now fear is being taken too literally.

Love At First Sight: Something I kindly remind Jenny can only happen if she leaves the house and puts on some blush.

Mr. Right: Someone Jenny promises she’ll stop at nothing to find though Lord knows she can barely find her car keys in the morning.

Ms. Right: An option I mention to Jenny before she goes on another “girls trip.” Even Linda from book club agrees: love is love and there is no one way to have a baby, from adoption, in vitro, and stealing one from your sister. Just have one!

Mr. / Ms. Alright: People with pulses, someone I wish Jenny would just settle for…I mean settle down with already.

Sparky: The chiweenie Jenny just rescued, thinking it will get me off her back about grandkids. Not a chance, Jenny!

Put a Ring on It (Lament): Something I regret ever telling Jenny was a requirement before pregnancy when she hit puberty.

Soulmate: Bill, my newly single gynecologist who wanted to know all about Jenny during my pap smear!

--

--

Megan Broussard
Slackjaw

Writer/Producer in NYC, currently at Warner Bros. Discovery and ABC’s The Chase. Proud Cajun.