A Day In My Purposefully Childless Life, According To People Who Think I Should Have Children

My money is mine, damnit! And all I want to spend it on is me, me, me!

Clare Blackwood
Slackjaw

--

Photo Credit: Andrea Piacquadio

12:00 PM: I wake up early! I have absolutely nothing to do today: no obligations, no work, no hobbies, and certainly no friends or family to occupy my time. I might as well go back to sleep and squander the precious moments I have here on earth.

12:30 PM: After that quick post-sleep nap, I leave the house and deliberately cut in front of a mother of two young children in line at the local coffee shop. She needs to know that she isn’t the only one who’s tired here. I convey with a single look just how much I judge her choices simply because I have not made the same ones.

1:15 PM: I return home to do my daily meditation on how much I hate children. Their tiny faces make me sick.

1:52 PM: Over lunch, I spare a quick glance at the clock in my kitchen. It ticks ruthlessly onward, a stark reminder that I, too, possess a clock within me, one that tick-tick-ticks ever closer towards my inevitable biological endgame. I silently will it to move faster, desperate to rid myself of the feminine curse that is my god-given fertility.

--

--

Clare Blackwood
Slackjaw

Canadian actor/writer/comedian; writer for The Beaverton; words in CBC Comedy, McSweeney’s, The Belladonna, etc. Co-Founder of The Honeypot. clareblackwood.com