A Definitely Qualified Astronaut Looking For Work

Marcela Onyango
Slackjaw
Published in
3 min readOct 3, 2019

--

Photo by Niketh Vellanki on Unsplash

Dear Hiring Manager at NASA,

I would like to be an astronaut for NASA’s next deep space mission because it will bequeath me an opportunity to utilize the skills I’ve acquired from reading 10 articles about space from The Atlantic. My passion for space was awakened by watching the new Star Trek: Discovery series. And, as an avid reader of The Atlantic, I believe all those articles I have read give me a solid foundation for the Astronaut role at NASA and will enable me to make a momentous impact on space travel.

Firstly, I have deep knowledge about an astronaut’s daily regime, which I acquired from reading The Atlantic article, “5200 Days in Space.” From this article, I learned that there are two types of astronauts: those who sleep with their arms outside the sleeping bag and those who sleep with their arms inside the sleeping bag. This knowledge equips me with invaluable information on how to efficiently sleep in space, therefore making me a well-rested astronaut.

My expertise on how astronauts sleep has catapulted me to the position of “Space Expert” in my friend group, which is a significant promotion from being “The Late One.” In my current role as Space Expert, I’ve shared information about “The True Price of Privatizing Space,” which was one of the 10 articles about space from The Atlantic that I have…

--

--