A Note Of Apology To My Cleaning Lady

I’m sorry about the state of my apartment, but my boyfriend just broke up with me.

Lindsay Hameroff
Slackjaw

--

Photo by David Levêque on Unsplash

Hi Mary Jo,

I wanted to leave a quick note to apologize for the state of the apartment this week. Sadly, my boyfriend Jeremy decided to end our relationship after four incredible months together, and needless to say, I am a mess. The trash cans are overflowing with wadded-up tissues, empty Häagen-Dazs pints, and Chinese takeout (honestly, could I be more of a cliché?) and I expect it will take you a bit longer than usual to tidy up today.

Jeremy broke up with me over a text message. Seriously, who breaks up with someone via text? I was like, Jeremy, is this about Lexi, that new receptionist at your office? Because I know she has a thing for you. And he was all like, this isn’t about anyone, I just can’t be tied down to a girlfriend when I’m trying to get my DJ career off the ground.

Naturally, I called and texted him relentlessly over the next three hours (couples need to talk these things out!), but he refused to pick up. And the next thing I knew, I had a fist-shaped hole in my wall! I did my best to sweep up all the drywall dust, but ultimately I figured it was probably best to leave this type of thing to the professionals. ;-)

--

--

Lindsay Hameroff
Slackjaw

Reader, writer, humorist, mommy. Follow me on Twitter @LindsayHameroff.