Adventures In Microdosing The Police Force

rob white
Slackjaw
Published in
5 min readAug 5, 2022

--

Art by Kate Miller @kateandtheworld on Instagram

Deep down, do you really want to ask questions? Isn’t it infinitely more comforting to live with the answers we have, even if they are the wrong ones? If only I had the foresight to understand that a week ago before I started micro-dosing everyone at the police station that I work at.

Everyone in the station seemed so tense all the time. There were a lot of heated exchanges behind closed doors; arguments over budgets and resources, lethal force, and how to catch the person who kept microwaving bullets. And frankly, things had become a little right-wing for my taste. You could feel it in the common area, it was a bad vibe, and I don’t do bad vibes. I actually own a hilarious shirt that says as much. I knew I had to change things, and after I had been laughed out of my boss’s office for suggesting the installation of a nap room, I knew that I had to be a little underhanded about it.

I had been complaining about the heavy atmosphere to my good friend Maze when he had a brilliant suggestion. Maze had been battling a serious case of depression since recently losing his entire leather pants collection in a blades-related stovetop fire, but he found that he had cured his case of blues by micro-dosing psilocybin mushrooms. He claimed that in just a few weeks, his mood began to lighten, fears and anxieties felt “washed away,” and he was able to turn a…

--

--

rob white
Slackjaw

Rob White is a Canadian-based award-winning filmmaker and part-time author. Follow him on Instagram @robwhitemakemakesstuff