An Apology For The Best Man Speech I Delivered At Dracula’s Wedding In Which I Referred To Him As “That Weird Bat Fuck” 9 Times

I am not proud of my behavior.

Ryan Ciecwisz
Slackjaw
4 min readJul 24, 2021

--

https://unsplash.com/photos/NljTy5Y15JM

I have reflected and grown so much in these 24 hours since I delivered my best man speech at Dracula’s wedding in which I referred to him as “that weird bat fuck” nine times. It is my hope that in presenting the speech below and offering my sincerest apologies, I am taking the first step towards earning Dracula’s trust back, as well as anyone who was in attendance that was hurt by my poor choice of words.

Gimme that mic. Boy, I didn’t think that weird bat fuck would ever stop talking. When Dracula asked me to be his best man, I said, “If I can’t make it to this wedding, I’ll definitely do it at the next one.” That weird bat fuck has more wives than there are ticks in a field. [Dracula shouts that the Mummy, not me, is his best man and tells me to get off the stage.]

Speaking of bloodsuckers, congratulations are in order to your lovely new bride. I know you’re the vampire, Drac, but I hope you signed a prenup before tying the knot with this one. Nah, she’s all right. But be careful, sweetheart. That weird bat fuck only has three weaknesses: garlic, wooden stakes, and alimony checks. [I pretend not to hear Dracula’s hisses as I check my notes.]

It’s nice to be here in Dracula’s home of Transylvania, dreary and grey as ever. Seriously, that weird bat fuck is so pale that he’s looking whiter than a ghost. [The ghosts in the audience moan in despair.] Count, I’m begging you to have the honeymoon in Hawaii. A few rays of sun won’t kill you. [I remember that sunlight can in fact kill Dracula. Desperate to change the subject, I pull out the T-shirt cannon I rented and fire it into the audience. The Wolfman is hit directly in the eye with a shirt that reads “Dracula Sucks” and he leaves to go get an ice pack.]

As most of you know, I spent a lot of time chained up in that weird bat fuck’s basement while he tortured me for trespassing in his castle. But what you may not know is that I invited an old friend of Dracula’s here today to help us celebrate! Professor Van Helsing, come on out here! [Dracula flips a table over in anger.] I’m kidding, he’s not really here. [I begin vigorously shaking my head “no” at Van Helsing in the back, who gets the message and runs off. Only Jack Skellington seems to notice and I make a mental note to pay off that corrupt bastard so he doesn’t tell anyone.]

I see the Creature from the Black Lagoon is here, dateless as usual. [Creature emits a high-pitched shriek.] Don’t worry Creature, if even that weird bat fuck has found nuptial bliss, there’s hope for the rest of us. [I stop for a moment in drunken contemplation and decide to go off script.] I joke that Dracula is that weird bat fuck, but what does that make me? A goddamn loser, that’s what. Where’s my vampire bride? I can’t do anything right. [A deeply uncomfortable silence falls over the room.] I can’t even fill a goddamn invitation card out properly. I checked off fish even though I hate goddamn fish. [I hurl my dinner plate at the wall, smashing it to pieces.] That weird bat fuck has it all. A castle. Dozens of wives. A widow’s peak so sharp you could slice a steak with it. Meanwhile, I’ve got NOTHING! [I realize that I’ve lost the audience. I laugh to try to convince everyone I was joking, but the damage has been done. Dr. Frankenstein wrestles me to the ground and injects me with a tranquilizer. I stand up and dust myself off.]

Anyway, this is all my way of saying that I’m happy for that weird bat fuck. He may be a serial killer and a walking nightmare come to life, but I’m still proud to call him my best friend. [I raise my glass, but the tranquilizer kicks in and I lose consciousness until I awake chained up in Dracula’s dungeon.]

You know, as I look over the speech, I actually don’t think it’s that bad. That weird bat fuck is probably just miffed that I didn’t get him a wedding gift. I’ll buy him an air fryer and this whole thing will blow over by tomorrow. Hopefully, it’ll secure my invitation to the monster mash this year, too!

Follow Slackjaw on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

--

--