As The Author Of The Viral Tweet “bread sux,” I’d Make A Great Addition To Your Ivy League Institution

I am so proud of myself for all those nights I didn’t text my girlfriend back.

Catherine Weingarten
Slackjaw
Published in
4 min readMay 18, 2021

--

Photo Credit: Julia M. Cameron from Pixabay

I was just a typical eleventh grader, but then I woke up and saw 1,000 notifications on my humble yet hilarious Twitter. Celebrities like Felicity Huffman, JK Rowling, and Lil Wayne had retweeted something that came out of my own brain.

Let me set the scene: It’s 8:30 am, and I wake up covered in Cheez Doodles, surrounded by my chem hw I forgot to do lol. (We all got those days, right??) I literally had no clue that the observation I made the night before while slightly high that “bread sux” was going to set the internet aflame like a flambé (which I’ve actually made once, when I took a French cooking class last summer at Disney World).

I don’t know how the tweet came to me — it may have been when my mother was like, “Brendan, eat this bread! You’re a growing boy! You’ve got to eat,” and I like threw the bread to the ground and was like: “bread sux.”

--

--

Catherine Weingarten
Slackjaw

Catherine Weingarten is a humor writer, playwright and wedding cake enthusiast.