Can I Pick Your Brain?

Tyler Watamanuk
Slackjaw
Published in
3 min readSep 23, 2019
Jonathan Borba via Unspash.

Hello, apologies in advance for the random email but I’m a massive fan of your work. I aspire to be a badass creative professional like you and think I could reach that level one day with the proper guidance. Can I buy you coffee and pick your brain?

Hey! I’m not sure if my first email conveyed how excited I am about potentially picking that big ole brain of yours! I can’t wait to learn what makes you tick and any tips to get the creativity flowing. (Plus, I would love some tips on how to make my Instagram cooler, too.) I mean, my own content is pretty good, but yours is straight up next level. Are you free on later this week, maybe on Thursday?

I hope this isn’t asking too much, but I’m actually attaching a marketing presentation that I would love your feedback on. It’d be really rad if you could check it out when you get a chance (seriously, no rush!) and let me know what you think. It’s a work-in-progress, but we can chat more when I’m picking your brain and enjoying a hot cup of joe. Unless you prefer it, iced? Someone once told me cold brew is actually better for creativity.

Just following up from earlier this morning. I think the file was too large to attach so here is a download link. (It expires in 30 minutes so please click it ASAP!) Really curious to see what you think of my ideas! Are the fonts I am using cool enough? Seriously, though, feel free to give precise and exact feedback on what I can do to make the work more like yours.

Ugh, sorry! Just made a couple of revisions to the presentation since I sent it to you: on page seven to 13, page 17, and pages 22 to 29. I’m including a brand-new download link for you here. I re-designed all the title slides feel more like something Barbara Kruger would have done. Please disregard the old version, especially if you saw the slides that said “Insert Ideas From Brain Pick Session” here. That wasn’t a reference to you at all.

So, I just heard back from my boss on that PDF I had sent you. He wants me to “push things further” and also to see one Instagram-centric activation idea. Do you have any suggestions on how I can push things? It’d also be great if you had an idea or two that work for Instagram lying around in that brain of yours.

Who am I kidding? You’re so much better at this than I am. Do you think you could hop into the presentation document directly and just make these changes real quick per all the notes? (Throw in that Instagram idea, too.) Just save out a new version as “client_presentation_final.” But honestly, I can’t wait to pick your brain!

--

--

Tyler Watamanuk
Slackjaw

Tyler Watamanuk is a writer and producer of things. His writing has appeared in The New York Times, GQ, Vice, McSweeney’s, and others. http://tylerwatamanuk.com