Grease’s Danny Zuko Asks Reddit, Am I The Asshole?

Laura Plummer
Slackjaw
Published in
3 min readOct 14, 2022
Photo by Ryan De Hamer on Unsplash

Posted by u/TBird4Ever

18M here. So it’s the summer before my senior year of high school, and I meet this foreign girl at the beach. We’ll call her Mandy. She is fine AF, and her ponytail is snatched. I deadass catch feelings because she’s not like these thots I’m used to dating. The season ends, and she moves back to her country.

It’s the first day of school, and my bros want to know if I scored during the summer. I spill the tea about Mandy and throw in some NSFW deets, but it’s pure cap. TBH, I didn’t get past the first base.

I’m with the fam after the school bonfire, and it’s totally lit. Suddenly, who do I see but Mandy? Her parents decided to stay in America! I’m high-key stoked, but my boys clown on me, so I brush her off. She says she wishes she never met me.

That night, I drive to the house where Mandy’s having a slumber party. I don’t see Mandy, but her thirsty friend comes out to flirt. I tell her she’s a snack but that we won’t be smashing because she’s been with too many guys.

A few days later, I see Mandy at the burger shack and apologize for my behavior at the bonfire. But she’s over it, and now she’s seeing a jock. I figure she likes athletes, so I join the track team. She finds me at the track one day. We start talking, and she decides to give me another chance.

Mandy and I practice a routine for our school dance competition. I’m the CEO of dance, so it’ll be an easy W. The eve of the event, we run into a rando I used to hook up with, “Salsa.” Mandy can tell I’m acting sus. Later, she catches me staring at Salsa’s ass and asks how I know her. I lie and say she’s a family friend.

During the dance-off, Mandy and I are killing it when Salsa steals Mandy’s place. Mandy is low-key triggered, but I keep dancing with Salsa because I want to win the competition. Salsa and I win the trophy and perform a slow spotlight dance.

I bring Mandy to the drive-in. She’s salty about the dance, so I ask her to be my wifey, and she forgives me. We’re vibin’, so I put my arm around her shoulder and try to grab her boob. I get on top of her while she protests. She gets out and slams the car door on my nuts. I take the L and spend some time wallowing in self-pity and nursing my blue balls.

On the day of the big drag race, I see Mandy watching from a distance. She’s been living rent-free in my head since the drive-in, but she’s still ghosting me.

It’s the last day of school. Me and the fam are at the carnival. Mandy is there, and she’s had the mother of all glow-ups. Black leather pants with a leather jacket and teased hair. I’m finna lose my mind. I drool over her like a pathetic simp. Now she’s my boo.

I gotta know, AITA for denying Mandy in front of my bros, ditching her for my ex at the dance, jumping her in my ride, and only pulling up when it’s obvious she’s DTF?

Follow Slackjaw on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

--

--

Laura Plummer
Slackjaw

Laura Plummer is an American writer, poet and humorist from Massachusetts. She has lived in Gloucester since 2014.