Follow Me @laulauland To Join My Journey Off The Grid

Danielle De Lano
Slackjaw
Published in
3 min readJun 26, 2021
Photo by Maddi Bazzocco on Unsplash

Hey, loves! Just wanted to do a quick Insta live to check in with everyone and see how you’re doing. Your comments are coming in way too fast and I won’t be able to reply to any of them.

So, listen. I’ve been thinking a lot about my platform and my role here, and I’ve decided that I need to disconnect, just for a little bit. To reset.

I think that social media is wearing us down. The very thing intended to bring us together always seems to be driving us apart. Whether it’s not wanting to see another photo of your friend’s kid, lacking the money to redecorate, or being utterly incapable of finding your dog’s angles, we all have our reasons for wanting to disconnect every now and then.

Thanks to you, my 1.2 million followers, I’ve amassed so much joy and purpose and clout, but I also think it’s really crucial to take a step back. To live life for a moment, in a place where not everything is staged for a perfect yet still natural-seeming photo.

While I’m “off the grid,” as they say, feel free to join in my journey by following @laulauland. I won’t be deleting my main, @LaurenAtHome, but I’m gonna sign out for a bit, so please know that I won’t be seeing any of your likes or mentions or DMs — you’ll need to send those to @laulauland, but also, please keep sending messages to @LaurenAtHome, they’ll be great to see when I log back in). For any brand sponsorship or events, you should just reach out to my publicist at Picture Perfect Publicity, attention to Xiomara Herbert-Staltz. A creator is always creating, an influencer is always influencing, and I am always doing both.

I’ve spent a lot of time and energy curating both my physical space in my home as well as my online space, where I share my home with all of you. It may look as effortless as my glowy natural make-up look (shout out to @badgirlriri), but what I do is work, and I need to take some time to redirect my energy towards relaxation in nature. Hence @laulauland — it’s like, a pun. Because I’ll be in the Southern California area. And my name is Lauren.

I’m trying not to plan too much of my planned time off; that way I can just go where the wind, Google Maps, and the itinerary from my assistant take me. Like the very elusive Marfa, TX Prada store, Joshua Tree, and Monument Valley (Run, Forrest, Run! lol) I’ll be doing some light camping (#vanlife) but am definitely going to do a spa day and also maybe pass through Sedona, so stay tuned for that! And DM me if you have any recs for SoCal, Arizona, and anywhere with a commuter airport that allows personal jets to port at.

So, you know, everyone watching here, please think about taking some time off and taking some steps back, but also make sure to follow my new account. The content will be a little different than usual, so don’t freak! I’ll be back to work soon, because you know I’ll have throw pillows and inspirational quotes as decor to recommend as we move into early summer.

I love you all. Do something kind for yourself today. Follow @laulauland and turn on your notifications.

Follow Slackjaw on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

--

--