Highly-Relatable Quarantine Fantasies

For when everything goes your way in a pandemic

Tara Purswani
Slackjaw

--

www.pickpik.com

I wake up at twilight and meditate for one hour. I take an exercise class, then make a green juice. I write 1,000 words a day and before I know it, I’ve crafted an entire fictional universe that becomes a best-selling trilogy.

I unglue my butt from the sofa and dig for the instruction manual to my Singer sewing machine. I scroll through a few DIY videos, then I’m ready to begin surgical mask production. The fabric is repurposed from clothing that got Marie Kondo’d out of my closet. I donate the masks to a local nursing home, and I’m featured on NY1. The demand for my environmentally-friendly, affordable product practically forces me to open an Etsy shop, and I never procrastinate again.

I spend so much time decluttering that I discover a secret door at the back of my bedroom closet. I am transported to a parallel universe where I have the power to eliminate things back in my world that I detest without any consequence whatsoever — kale, CK1, facial tattoos, poverty, racism, and unnecessary toilet paper commercials.

I purchase a lifetime subscription to Rosetta Stone that includes all languages. My first instinct is to pick up where I left off with German. But being practical and community-driven, I decide to alternate between…

--

--

Tara Purswani
Slackjaw

Linguiphile and AI Data Trainer at Meta. Slavic language enthusiast, striving for fluency in Russian, juggling Ukrainian; dabbling in Icelandic and more...