FOR LOVE OR PEANUT BUTTER

How I Met The Man I Gave Up Peanut Butter For

Not as catchy as How I Met Your Mother, but same idea.

Kelly Shanley
Slackjaw
Published in
6 min readJul 8, 2021

--

Illustration by Emily Clouse

If you’ve been reading my column, you’ve probably gathered that I’ve kissed more frogs than the Bachelorette and have been single for about as long as the show has been on the air. All that bad luck and bad sex led me to have a very bad attitude, and one day I decided to address it and shake that shit off like T-Swift. If this is your first time reading my column, congratulations! You’re all caught up now.

But what if I told you that currently, I am no longer single? (GASP!) That’s right, what if, hypothetically speaking, I was in a happy, supportive, loving relationship with an actual human man who treats me very well? Wouldn’t that be wild?! I bet you’d wanna know how the hell I pulled it off, right? Well, buckle up Buttercup, because that’s exactly what I’m going to tell you.

Believe me, I’m as shocked as you are to find myself in a functional relationship. It seemed about as likely as, I don’t know, everything that happened in 2020? Covid, quarantine, staggering death counts, protests, conspiracies, aliens, murder hornets, locusts, uncontainable wildfires, never-ending elections that haunt your dreams… Apparently the universe considers me getting a…

--

--

Kelly Shanley
Slackjaw

LA based writer/podcaster/comedian/mountain girl at heart. Outdoor lover, world traveler, loud laugher. https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/kelly-shanley