I Am Afraid Of Virginia Woolf And Apparently The Only One Who Is

Lauren Liacouras
Slackjaw
Published in
3 min readAug 3, 2020

--

Virginia Woolf via Flickr

For decades, people have mockingly prompted, “Who’s afraid of Virginia Woolf?” not realizing that she is the source of all my trauma. Evidently, I am completely alone in my blood-curdling fear and the only one to whom Mistress Woolf is a personal haunt. Thanks to a rousing game of Feminist Literature Quizzo and a drunken conversation with an Ouija board on Halloween night in 2017, I had accidentally created the perfect storm and summoned a malevolent force beyond human comprehension: Virginia Woolf herself.

I haven’t slept soundly in three years. As I crawl into bed each night, I mentally prepare for hours of torment at the hands of Virginia Woolf.

At 10 p.m., as I try to close my eyes, the scratching begins. My anus tightens to the size of a pinhead as Mistress Woolf rakes her nine-inch claws up and down the walls to signal her grand entrance. The jagged markings read, “Melancholy were the sounds on a winter’s night.” I’m terrified that she doesn’t realize it’s summer.

Then, like clockwork, Mistress Woolf licks the bottom of my feet with her grainy, serpentine tongue, and whispers, “Such a burden to have a room of one’s own ridden with nightmares.” I pee a little.

After the foot licking, Mistress Woolf hangs from the ceiling by her webbed hands and hisses…

--

--

Lauren Liacouras
Slackjaw

Humor writer and comedian based in Chicago. Featured in Slackjaw, The Belladonna, and Little Old Lady Comedy. Twitter: @leeuhchorus, TikTok: @laurenliacouras