I Got Hit By A Blimp The Other Day And I Don’t Understand Why Everyone Has So Many Questions

Joe Harrington
Slackjaw
Published in
3 min readMay 14, 2020

--

Illustration by Emily Clouse

When I came into work on Monday, there was definitely a buzz around the office. Was there a new snack machine? Did someone get promoted? Did someone find Aaron’s missing grandmother? As it turns out, no, she had died. But also, the buzz was about ME.

I started my daily routine like I always did: with a big giant cup of milk. Yet when I walked into the break room, people were whispering under their breath and pointing at me. I had to say something.

“Guys, what the heck is going on?” I said.

My coworkers Chase and Gary were quick to point out the local news story from last night. “OH!” I thought to myself. “I had been hit by a blimp!”

Now that I had caught on, I made sure to clear the air by retelling the story in crystal clear detail. I recounted aspects of the incident like, “I don’t know, it just kind of happened” and “From where I was standing, it could have been anyone” and “At least I got away from the cops.”

Having relived my experience for my coworkers, I was glad the air had been cleared and I could go back to…

--

--

Joe Harrington
Slackjaw

Joe Harrington is already a declining star in comedy at the age of 23. He‘s a really great grandson and a writer/performer in Chicago.