I’m The Advertising Genius That Leaves Empty Bottles Of Fireball Whisky Everywhere

It’s not too hard to sell a product if you love it yourself.

WhatTheZem
Slackjaw

--

Photo by the author

Hi, my name is Dan Munkle, Fireball Whisky’s VP of Marketing. Today I’m going to show you how, with an extremely limited budget, I took Fireball from an unknown brand to the number one self-medicating whisky that tastes like candy.

First off, here’s a little confession: it’s not too hard to sell a product if you love it yourself.

This is the park bench I sat on while first thinking about the new ad campaign. Look, you can still see plenty of empty bottles scattered around. When I first sat here many years ago, I brought about a dozen mini bottles with me. I thought “I need to get into the mind of our consumer,” and then I gulped them all down.

As I finished bottle after bottle, I tossed the empties on the ground and under the bench, then noticed how cool they looked just sitting there. It reminded me of being a kid and seeing empty Bud Light cans in the back seat of my dad’s taxicab. That’s when it hit me: the empty bottles are the advertising. I jumped up, vomited, and stumbled home to get more Fireball.

I went to every park that day and placed dozens of empty bottles by other benches, bus stops, bike…

--

--

WhatTheZem
Slackjaw

Kurt is just trying to put more humor in the world. Please consider supporting him here: https://medium.com/@kzem/membership