I’m The Gorgeous And Delightful Woman In The Movie Who’s All Alone In The World

Hi, it’s nice to meet you! Because I somehow don’t know anyone.

James Klein
Slackjaw

--

Shutterstock Images

I’m the beautiful, warm, funny, smart, and caring twenty-six-year-old in the movie you’re watching who hasn’t made any friends or lovers in the dynamic city of millions where I’ve lived for years. It’s almost as if I’m a blank slate, waiting to be shaped by plotlines that would be complicated by my having any preexisting relationships.

Despite my sparkling eyes, sunshine smile, incandescent personality, and pretty much every other desirable human quality, I have almost no human contact. So, I’m available to fall in love unexpectedly, or be the prime suspect in a murder. What I’m saying is, I don’t know if my future will be a romantic comedy or a crime thriller, but I’m certain that for now, it’s plausible that a sweet, bright, ravishing woman hasn’t met anyone.

The reason I don’t have a boyfriend, as I will repeatedly lament, is that I’m too busy, or shy, or zany for men to notice that I look like a fashion model. It’s like they say, you’re never more alone than when you’re surrounded by other people. That’s what it’s like for me. I’m all by myself, with no way to meet any of the attractive men who would ask me out if I so much as glanced at them. It’s a…

--

--

James Klein
Slackjaw

My dog thinks I’m cool. Humor in McSweeney’s, Slackjaw, Points in Case, Greener Pastures, and others. All of it at jameskleinhumor.com.