I’m The Slice of Pizza In Your Hands And No, I’m Not A Triangle

Who slept through geometry classes?

Mayur Chauhan
Slackjaw

--

Image of a slice of a pizza doing serious calculus
Illustration by Monica Marcil

It’s embarrassing already that we’re having this conversation. I’m the slice of pizza in your hands and you need to stop calling me a triangle.

You cannot change my identity because all you know is that a triangle has three sides and I also happen to have three sides. You know what else has three sides? A Rectangle. It even has one extra, like the extra cheese on me– a sector.

Yes, Sector is my name, you didn’t know that? What a shame.

Hungry people can get bad at geometry, the medical term for the ailment is hungometry. The treatment is simple: Listen to me.

In your mind, a full pizza is a circle, right? Cool, so far we’re on the same page. So you cut the pizza into six to eight equal(ish) parts to consume it in a humanly fashion, great. You pick me, a sector, aka a slice, and suddenly you call me a triangle? How? Why? I’m not a shape-shifter.

If someone takes out a seat from a car and starts calling it a lounge chair, does that make any sense? Neither do you.

I won’t let Euclid’s lifework go to waste.Till the last bite, I’ll fight.

--

--