I’ve Been A Floor Manager At Tommy Bahama So Long I Don’t Know If I’m At Work Or On Vacation

Susannah Bohlke
Slackjaw
Published in
3 min readMar 10, 2020
Illustration by Susannah Bohlke

Happy Friday and welcome to Tommy Bahama! If you’re interested in island styles, these Beaded Hibiscus Sandals feature Hawaii’s state flower. And talk about arch support! I wore them all over Tampa last summer. Well, I wasn’t really in Tampa but I did wear them every day here at the store when we featured the Florida Keys Tasseled Summer Poncho. The colors in our collection were so beachy I barely realized I was in Minneapolis!

Oh, you’re shopping for an upcoming vacation? I just got back from a long weekend in Maui. Well, technically I spent the weekend in the home section here at Tommy Bahama dusting off the silk display palms. We had just received these new bird-of-paradise duvet sets and I was so excited that my heart was beating like the drums of the Pacific Luau.

Do you have a taste for linen? Nothing beats linen for swirling a glass of Torrontes at a wine bar in Laguna. The last time I was in Laguna I wore our Washed Linen Island Sarong to this Newport Beach cruise featuring a lively Cuban band. I know what you’re thinking, wearing a sarong for a night on the town? But at Tommy Bahama we don’t dress up or down: we dress vacation.

Now that I think about it, that wasn’t in Laguna. I remember. I was here at the store setting up our window display featuring the Orange County Crochet Maxi-Dress that came out last March. I had put a little rum in my coconut water for the late shift and turned up the Buena Vista Social Club soundtrack, so it’s no wonder I got confused! What a night! It took me over two weeks to air out the cigar smoke from the embroidered pineapple chinos.

Here you are! I was wondering where you sauntered off to. Sorry if the men’s polo section smells a bit funny. I got a little carried away with the “clambake” display. Well noted, Ina Garten, baked clams are subject to squirts!

Are you a pashmina type? We have so many attractive shawls and throws. You never know what the evenings will be like when you travel. Sometimes, when I’m watching the new shipments come into from the Tommy Bahama stockroom, I’ll just throw the Driftwood Harbor Scarf around my sunburned arms. Oh, no, I don’t lay out. But, I do like to sneak over to the L.A. Tan during my lunch break.

I’m not certain that these mesh-lined swim trunks come in an extra-large, but I’ll check the back. Is your husband a surfer? My ex-fiancé used to love to ride the waves, but now he’s chasing that dream as Shift Supervisor of the Ron Jon Surf Shop at JFK airport.

What are you doing? There’s no need to check your watch when you’re at Tommy Bahama! We’re on island time.

Want to join me up here? No, it’s not a problem at all if I lounge on this display table. It’s solid pine veneer. It’s almost as comfortable as those teak Adirondack chairs they have at Sandals. Please! Sit down, relax. Just let me move these twin sets.

You know, now that I think about it, I know what would go perfectly with that top. Our Paisley Tahiti Gauchos! This will be a terrific outfit for… I didn’t catch where you’re going? Turks and Caicos! Gorgeous! Nothing. Beats. Vacation. I had this amazing teriyaki dish the last time I was in Turks. Wait, I wasn’t in Turks. I was right here at Tommy Bahama eating Panda Express in the breakroom. I was watching one of our corporate anti-harassment training videos for the servers at our Tommy Bahama restaurants and they were pouring this elegant Zinfandel, and it looked fabu-Oh!

That reminds me. I filled my Camelbak with Yellowtail. I’m going to go pour myself a mugful and fold the new Coconut Corfu Cardigans.

Let me know if you need anything!

--

--

Susannah Bohlke
Slackjaw

Susannah Bohlke is a Nebraska-born, Brooklyn-based comedy writer.