Jolene, I Changed My Mind. You Can Totally Take My Man

He bores me to death, but I’m afraid of confrontation.

Gisela Lost
Slackjaw
2 min readMar 11, 2020

--

Dolly Parton (1977), RCA Records — eBayfrontback, Public Domain

Jolene, Jolene, Jolene, Jolene

I’m begging of you, please come take my man.

Jolene, Jolene, Jolene, Jolene

Please come get him Thursday if you can.

His beauty is beyond compare

With decent cock and no back hair

With cute foreskin and eyes of dully sheen.

His smile is like the dumbest thing

His voice? Flat echoes of an empty brain

And I can’t stand him anymore, Jolene.

I talk about you in my sleep

There’s nothing I can do but weep

When thinking how I cast you out, Jolene.

And I could easily understand

Why you would gladly skip my man

But we both know that you owe me one, Jolene.

Jolene, Jolene, Jolene, Jolene

I’m begging of you, please come take my man.

Jolene, Jolene, Jolene, Jolene

Please come get him Tuesday if you can.

To be recited during instrumental:

Let’s get real, Jolene.

You were awful, Jolene.

Like that one time when you used your mother’s cancer just to get a pity fuck from him.

Remember that, Jolene?

Oh, I remember… Jolene…

I’m glad your mom is well now, Jolene.

But, Jolene… you were a bitch.

So be a doll now. Do the right thing for once,

And take his pretentious, man-bun wearing, nature-loving, coconut oil vaping ass off my hands,

Jolene…

I might not get another man,

But neither can I stay with Brad

’Cause he’s driving me insane, Jolene.

I had to have this talk with you

My happiness depends on you

And whatever you decide to do, Jolene.

Jolene, Jolene, Jolene, Jolene

I’m begging of you, please come take my man.

Jolene, Jolene, Jolene, Jolene

Please come get him presto if you can…

“Presto” is Italian for “super fast”, Jolene.

Jolene…

Jolene…

Jolene…

--

--

Gisela Lost
Slackjaw

Gisela is a Transylvanian grad student living in Germany where she spends her time debunking myths about vampires. Sometimes she writes.