Moving You To BCC

After you arrive here, you’re gonna wish that email had been a meeting.

Joe Berkowitz
Slackjaw
3 min readJul 8, 2024

--

Photo by Alexis Fauvet on Unsplash

Bill: Hi! Welcome to BCC.

Excuse me?

Bill: BCC. You’ve been moved here.

What are you talking about?

Bill: Well, what’s the last thing you remember?

I was checking my email. Then I was in an unknowable void of nothingness.

Gary: Exactly. That’s how we all got here.

Why can’t I see anything?

Bill: It’s a blind carbon copy. None of us can see anything.

Angela: Especially not Gary. He was blind before.

Gary: Visually impaired, Angela!

Angela: Oh, whatever.

How many of you are there?

Bill: No one knows.

Gary: No one we know of, anyway.

It sounds pretty crowded.

Bill: It is. Just be glad you didn’t get sent to the spam folder.

Angela: The way they fold spam there is… unconscionable.

So, what happens now?

Dennis: Let’s parking-lot that question and blue-sky this thing.

What?

Bill: Pay no attention to Dennis. He was sent here from a work email.

How did you get here?

Bill: I was introducing my friends Emily and Thomas.

Angela: I’m one of seven assistants who got dumped here all at once.

Jane: My husband was planning a surprise party for me, apparently while on edibles.

Bill: Now I have no idea whether Emily thinks Thomas is a good fit for coding boot camp.

Gary: And I want closure too!

How long do I have to stay here?

Bill: You’ll disappear as soon as you get another email.

Terrific!

Bill: Well, another email that you won’t immediately delete or leave unread for weeks because it’s exhausting to even think about responding.

Oh.

Gary: You’re damn right, “Oh.”

How will I know the next time I get that kind of email?

Bill: You just know.

Dennis: You finger-lick the wind and pull the trigger.

Angela: Pipe down, Dennis. No wonder nobody is emailing you.

Dennis: Ouch, my pain point.

So, there’s nothing to do but wait?

Bill: Pretty much.

What if we reply-all?

Scott: Absolutely not. It’s the worst.

You’re right. God, I wish this email had been a meeting.

Jane: What’s your rush, anyway? Don’t you understand the beauty of this place?

Scott: Yeah, I’m glad I was spared from being on any more emails. Sending me here was the courteous thing to do.

Angela: You were the fat that needed trimming, Scott.

Scott: We all were!

Gary: It’s true. They call us ‘secondary recipients’ but ‘second-class citizens’ is more like it.

No offense, but you people are the worst. I hate being in BCC.

Jane: Well, some of us felt like we were in BCC our whole lives.

Several voices: Yeah!

Jane: And only now that we’re here, for the first time, others can finally CC us.

Several voices: We CC you!

Jane: And I CC you too!

Wait, that’s it! What if we all CC each other?

Bill: How would we do that?

Angela: What would we say?

Gary: It doesn’t matter, no one will read it.

Whoa! What’s happening now?

Scott: Hey, the new guy is shaking into me.

I must be getting an email — one I actually want to respond to!

Jane: Goodbye, new friend.

Angela: Thanks for dropping by.

So long, suckers! I’ll be BCC-ing you in hell.

Bill: Who wants to tell him?

--

--

Joe Berkowitz
Slackjaw

Staff Editor at Fast Company. Author of Away with Words, out summer 2017. The Awl, Rolling Stone, Salon, Vulture, McSweeney's, etc. I apologize in advance.