My Bass Pro Snapbacks, Ranked

Last time I had the Traveling Chapeau I wore it hunting with Mayhem Mark, and he shot nothing, and I shot fourteen moose.

Molly Henderson
Slackjaw

--

Illustration by Louis Sobol

#8 Gatortron

I was hunting gators down in Tallahassee last summer when I came across this pink sequined Bass Pro snapback at an antiques roadshow. It was just sitting there, right on top of the antiques show owner’s head. I pointed at it and said: “How much for the cap on that there noodle of yours.” “She ain’t for sale,” replied the owner. I was about to rob it from her at gunpoint when she added: “There’s a seven-foot gator haunting the bayou round back. You kill it, I’ll give you this here cap.” So I killed it, and received as payment that there cap.

Illustration by Louis Sobol

#7 ‘Bama Bass Beer Helmet

As a freshman at the University of Alabama, I really wanted to be “the beer helmet guy,” meaning I wanted to be the guy who pulls up to every party wearing a plastic beer helmet. Turns out there were way too many guys at the U o’ ‘Bama who did that for me to stand out, so I had my buddy Rod paint the Bass Pro logo on the front of my helmet, and I…

--

--

Molly Henderson
Slackjaw

humor writer, editor, tinker, tailor, solider, spy. more at: mollyhenderson.ca