My “Famous” Pork Shoulder Recipe Requires Famous Pork

Secreting my secrets for exceptional flavor.

Justin Gawel
Slackjaw

--

Image Copyright: Hanna-Barbera. (Fair Use.)

I was born and raised in the American South and we do two things better than anyone else in this world: barbecuing and worshipping football as the pinnacle of all human achievement. My methods are simple, and they can be distilled down to selecting the right cut of meat and pumping hormone-riddled sixteen-year-old athletes full of aggression and false hope.

Not all cuts are created equally and for my “famous” pork shoulder you’ll need to look beyond the simplistic USDA labels of “free-range,” “non-GMO,” or “led a purpose-driven life.” Your average grocery store might be suitable for carb-loading on butter sandwiches and gravy au-gratin before some cupcake non-conference game, but if you want something inspiring, something to give your town’s young men a transcendent lick off that succulent ring before a big game, you need to connect with a pork broker

Yes, my “famous” pork shoulder requires famous pork.

I’m not a fancy scientist; I’m just a guy who has concluded that teenage concussion statistics are overblown and who has recognized that ordinary pork just doesn’t harbor that same juicy succulence as famous pork. I first noticed this at my cousin’s barbecue. He was home from the hospital, fully recovered…

--

--

Justin Gawel
Slackjaw

An adult baby living in Northern Michigan — @justingawel / www.justingawel.com