Our New Wedding Date Didn’t Work For Greg, So Now I’m Marrying Chad

Christopher Shelley
Slackjaw
Published in
3 min readSep 25, 2021

--

Greg’s family: you are still cordially invited!

Photo by Scott Webb on Unsplash

Dear Friends, Family, and Plus-Ones,

I hope this wedding update finds you well. What a year! A year like no other, and not just because I’m getting married.

As you know, Greg and I planned to get married on June 20, 2020, but this inconvenient pandemic forced us to put our plans on ice. We were on track to hold our wedding on June 20, 2021, but with the delta variant, we have once again moved the date, this time to June 20, 2022, with one minor change.

On the one hand, we are so fortunate that our venue and entire team of wedding vendors is available for our new date. It’s so hard to find talented and professional musicians, photographers, videographers, planners, caterers, psychic mediums, close-up magicians, DJs, and of course our officiant, my sister Kassidy.

Only one person had a scheduling conflict: the Groom. Since June 20, 2022 didn’t work for Greg, I’m now marrying Chad.

Of course I’ll explain. Many of you know that my lucky number is 620, and has been since I was awarded $620,000,000 in a Botox malpractice lawsuit on June 20, 2010. That’s why I planned to get married at 6:20pm, on 6/20/20, to Greg, the 62nd man I’d slept with, in front of 620…

--

--

Christopher Shelley
Slackjaw

Wedding Celebrant | Speaker | Emcee — Humor in Slackjaw, Little Old Lady Comedy, Points in Case. Weddings: www.IlluminatingCeremonies.com