Out Of Office Today — My Sim Is Having A Baby

I will take as long as I need.

Gillian Tanda
Slackjaw
4 min readAug 2, 2024

--

Image: The Sims 4. Image Copyright: Electronic Arts. (Fair Use.)

Hi all,

I will be OOO today due to a personal matter. Today, my Sim is having a baby. As it is her first child, I will need to stay home and focus all of my energy on the birth. As many of you know — some of you having experienced it firsthand — childbirth is a painful, emotional, life-altering occasion. That being said, I will have my hands full (Dr. Pepper, ergonomic mouse) supporting little Gillian as she enters this new phase of life.

For those of you who are wondering, I’m playing The Sims 4 on my HP Pavilion laptop that I reserve exclusively for gaming and living out my second life. My main Sim that I play is a spunky entrepreneur named Gillian Tanda (I might’ve told some of you about her before). I call her “little Gillian” for short, haha.

This means I will be missing the end-of-month budget meeting from 1–6pm where I usually take diligent notes. I am sorry for the late notice; I just found out she was pregnant yesterday. I feel comfortable telling you all this, as I strongly feel that our company puts family first. After Stan was OOO for a while due to his father’s passing in that tragic tour bus accident, I knew I would be supported during this crazy, wonderful time.

Yes, she is having twins! ❤ You usually can’t tell what your Sim is having, but yesterday I was trying to make her teleport to the basketball courts when I accidentally opened her Simology Panel and viewed her stats. I didn’t even know she was expecting! God, I was ecstatic. It’s one of those everyday miracles that really puts everything in perspective. Her life aspiration of “Vampire Family” is one step closer to coming true, and I could not be happier for her.

For visibility, she looks just like me (scarily accurate), and her husband looks just like Jeremy Allen White in The Bear if he was a little 3D cartoon guy. The babies will be the most accurate depiction of what our children would look like in real life to date, which is thrilling. I can take screenshots if anyone would like to see them. Also, if you would like to see Jeremy’s newly renovated gourmet kitchen, I can send those as well.

Unfortunately, I will not be responding to emails or phone calls. I will be very busy recording the whole thing: a screen capture of the birth, and my reaction from my webcam. I’m also going to livestream the event on my Twitch and LinkedIn if anyone is interested. I have arranged a live countdown so no one misses out on the exact moment (link here!) I will be keeping my phone line open only so that I can make emergency calls to my real-life mother (not little Gillian’s mother, Cranberry) for moral support, so I will be virtually unreachable. Apologies!

Just as a heads up, I might also need tomorrow off as I will need time to restructure their penthouse apartment/lair to fit little Gillian, Jeremy, his gourmet kitchen, the twins, and their dog, Toots. I will be sure to update the team if this is the case. Speaking of updating, I believe I also need to update my game, so the whole process might take a bit longer. The update usually only takes about four hours, give or take.

Oh, and I alsoooo might need a day off or two next week to prepare the twins (I’ve decided on Shayla and Channing) for their prom night. This one might seem less significant, but I can assure you all, prom night is in the top three most influential nights of your life just behind your best friend’s wedding and getting your braces off. After all, it is my responsibility to give the kids the greatest life that Jeremy and I can afford. I mean little Gillian. Haha.

Thank you all so much for understanding! If there are any urgent requests, please forward them to Jedidiah or Lacey. And if anyone would like to send any gifts or flowers to mark this momentous occasion, that’s very sweet but little Gillian is a Sim. Apologies for any confusion. But I’ll take them! (My address is in the staff sheet).

I’ll be back as soon as I am ready.

Best,

Gillian

--

--