Pretending I Have A House

It’s like playing dress up, but for adults.

Brigs H
Slackjaw

--

Photo of a birdhouse that looks like a little old house
Photo by David Gonzales, From Pexels

My parents are on a little vacay in Norway. Yes, I am bitter they didn’t take me. But…

It gives me, their thirty-two-year-old teenager, an opportunity to housesit. For two-and-a-half weeks I get to be a homeowner. It’s like my Polly Pocket house came to life!

Now if this were happening fourteen years ago, I’d be reaching into my sock-drawer vodka stash and telling all my friends to come over. But these days I’m pretty enthralled by the wizardry that is my parents’ egg poacher.

I begin my mornings by walking out on to the porch and shouting, “Look at me guys! I’m a boomer with a house! How cool is that?! I OWN this thing!”

Sure, I get some strange looks, but every street needs a weird neighbor. I take my job as house sitter very seriously.

And then, yes, I proceed to poach some eggs.

I get to participate in several exciting homeowner activities, such as rolling the garbage cans to the curb and rolling them back in. I get to sit on the couch and gaze into the yard. I get to sip my coffee and think, “Yeah, that’s a good yard.”

I can walk into this yard directly from the house and touch grass. Like, I don’t have to get in my car and drive to the park for…

--

--

Brigs H
Slackjaw

AI-Free, anxious millennial writing since 2024. Future Wine Auntie.