Sacred Heart Elementary Drama Department Addresses Your Parental Concerns About The Third Grade Production Of The Crucible

Emily Duke
Slackjaw
Published in
5 min readOct 27, 2023

--

I can’t fathom where they learned how to draw the giant pentacle in sidewalk chalk, but it was extremely accurate.

Hands holding an animal skull with spooky pumpkins and candles
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

Dear Third Grade Parents,

I am thrilled to announce that I have selected esteemed playwright Arthur Miller’s The Crucible as our third grade fall play. Some of you may suggest that this content is too mature for third graders, but as an experienced man of the theatre and shaper of young thespian dreams, I assure you that your superstars are ready to take on this dramatic challenge. I will keep parents updated in this weekly newsletter on our transformative journey to hone their craft.

Your faithful Director and Executive Producer,

Mr. Clark L. Webber, Sacred Heart Elementary Drama Teacher

Dear Parents,

I’m sure you’ve heard that we completed casting and the play’s rehearsals are now in full swing. I received a few criticisms for my feedback, to which I say–that’s Broadway, baby. We can’t all play John Proctor. Or Jean Valjean in the Heritage Community Theatre production of Les Misérables, but that’s a story for later.

--

--

Emily Duke
Slackjaw

Emily Duke lives in SLC where she drinks at least 100 fl. oz of LaCroix every day, which totally counts. Follow @dazeyduke on Twitter.