Self-Incriminating Popup Offers

Natalie Holt
Slackjaw
Published in
3 min readNov 9, 2019
Image by Alexas_Fotos from Pixabay

Opt-in to our weekly newsletter for more great content and updates.
⚪ Sign me up!
⚫ I don’t like being in the know.

Me-HOW great would it be to receive weekly updates from CatMaladies.net?
⚪ Yes, purr-lease!
⚫ No, I’m a bitch (like a dog, get it? ;) )

Would you like to receive incredible, hand-selected offers from our partners?
⚪ Of course, I trust you implicitly.
⚫ The world’s hurt me too much to believe your honeyed words.

Thanks for visiting 420 Good Vibes! Want to subscribe to our email list?
⚪ Yeah, I love reading rad updates!
⚫ No, I’m a total narc.

Earn more Delta airline miles by opting into fingerprint storage and retinal sequencing. (We promise to use it responsibly.)
⚪ Absolutely, I love travel and adventure!
⚫ No. My mummified body will be found deep in a shoddy recliner, my miserly form unseen for years yet never missed. No one came to call and day by day, all memory of me eroded. Who remembers a man who has built nothing, seen nothing, knows nothing? He is a ghost in life, yet haunts none after his death.

We see you’re using an ad blocker. Please consider whitelisting our site so we can pay our bills!
⚪ Anything for a listicle
⚫ I’ll laugh as you and your family die starving in the gutter.

Do you agree to the Amazon Terms of Servitud — er, Service?
⚪ Yeah, whatever, just get that Slap Chop to me in an hour.
⚫ I’m a widdle webel who tinks Daddy Bezos is a mean bad man and I’m gonna cwy. Wahhh!

Would you like to round up your purchase today and donate to our CVS tax write off, Something About Saving Children Or Whatever?
⚪ Yes, I have a beautiful heart!
⚫ No, I prefer to eat children and must save every penny to build gingerbread walls for my fecund swamp hut.

Apply for the Chase Visa® RareEarthMetals credit card and we’ll donate 1 cent per $100 spent to rainforest restoration.
⚪ Tell me more about high limits and low environmental impact!
⚫ I singlehandedly masterminded the colonization, decimation, and genocide in South America that I may feed on the Earth’s pain as it burns.

Allow Google to access and edit your Phone, Contacts, Camera, and Dental Records?
⚪ Yes
⚪ Yes

Look who’s back. Allow Google to access your and edit your Phone, Contacts, Camera, Dental Records, and Power Of Attorney?
⚪ Yes
⚪ No, but it’s opposite day, so no means yes.

Want more options? OK. Allow Google to access and edit your Phone, Contacts, Camera, Dental Records, Power Of Attorney, and LiveJournal Archives?
⚪ Yes
Si
Oui
Ja
Hai

You win. Allow Google to access and edit your Phone, Contacts, Camera, Dental Records, Power Of Attorney, LiveJournal Archives, and DNA?
⚪ Yes
⚫ No, but please place me on the Homeland Security watchlist.

You’ve reached your monthly article limit! Subscribe to the Washington Post?
⚪Yes, I’m mostly sure journalism isn’t dead.
⚫ No. Also, I’m the Zodiac Killer.

--

--