Smoking Grass With Amelia Bedelia

Amelia Bedelia’s first backyard patio hang.

Meghan Cook
Slackjaw

--

Anonymous guy rolling up joint on street by Enric Cruz López on Pexels

“Amelia Bedelia! So glad you could show.”

I welcomed her to my backyard,

Teeming with grass, unmowed.

“These are my friends, Jeff and Blaire,”

I said as my neighbors waved

From mismatched beach chairs.

“I’m happy to be here!”

said Amelia Bedelia.

“I never party, just to be clear.”

“Do you ever drink liquor? Even a drop?”

I asked, as my Dollar Tree

String lights flickered up top.

“It seems hard to get drunk, one drop at a time,”

She said, as I offered her

A Bud Light Lime.

“Oh, Amelia Bedelia, that’s a good point.”

We laughed with wide grins

As Jeff whipped out a joint.

“Tell us, Amelia, have you ever smoked grass?”

Blaire asked, as she topped off

A Baby Yoda shot glass.

“Oh, heaven’s no, that sounds absurd!”

--

--

Meghan Cook
Slackjaw

sketch writer, stand-up, that person who writes those “Every Paul Rudd Movie Ranked” articles