The 5 Best Books Ever Written Out Of The 8 Books I Have Read

Alex Baia
Slackjaw
Published in
4 min readMar 13, 2023

--

Image By Michael Mitchell licensed under Creative Commons

5. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling

Magic! Time travel! Devilish dementors! Woohoo!! This book has it all. When I found a used copy of Azkaban on a bench outside a public park restroom, I high-fived myself.

I had always wanted to read a book ever since my girlfriend dumped me on our second date because I “clearly wasn’t challenging myself.”

And based on the antics of Ron Weasley’s pet rat ‘Scabbers,’ I can EASILY say that Azkaban is a top 5 book. Hell, old J.K. should consider writing a sequel! Pages 37–104 were torn out of my copy, so I bet the unabridged version is even better.

4. Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

I’m so lucky I found Catcher in the Rye in my big brother’s shoebox full of marbles and unused condoms. I loved the main character’s wicked slams against society and how he calls out fake rich people! SO relatable.

See, for me, a good book comes down to 3 factors: Antics (I gotta laugh), Relatability (I gotta feel seen), and Practical takeaways (teach me something for dog’s sake!). I call it the ARP scale.

Is Catcher the best book out there? Hell no. It lacks practical takeaways, and it…

--

--

Alex Baia
Slackjaw

Humor writer, book junkie, stargazer, optimist. Resident philosophy major. Get my humor newsletter: https://alexbaia.com/humor