The Pros & Cons Of Not Working

A few weeks ago, on a whim, I quit my job. I woke up one Monday and thought, “Nah.”

Hannah Olivia
Slackjaw

--

Photo by krakenimages on Unsplash

A few weeks ago, on a whim, I quit my job. I woke up one Monday and thought, “Nah.”

Since I resigned, people have been interrogating me. They think I must have been headhunted by an even better company for more money. Which I haven’t. I give them the usual, “Oh, you know, I want to travel.” Or, “I need a break.” Or, “I’m thinking about a career change.”

When I told my boss, he was stunned. He had just given me a pay rise, for Pete’s sake! A pay rise!!! My self-worth had gone up significantly in the past 12 months and was projected to go up even more next financial year.

“What happened, Hannah?”

I looked at him dead serious in the eyes: “It’s not you, Dave. It’s me.” I paused, and I almost, ALMOST, told him the truth. But I chickened out. “I just need a break, you know?”

Well, I would like to take this opportunity to clear up the blatant lies I’ve been telling you all. Especially you, Dave. Because I think it is you, Dave. Well not you specifically, but the original Dave, the almighty one who created the ten commandments of working: Thou shalt not lie (unless it’s to make more money). Thou shalt never reveal thy true self to thy…

--

--