The Replies In My Dog’s Eyes

Let’s go chase squirrels!

Justin Courter
Slackjaw

--

Photo: Justin Courter

ME: No one’s returning my texts. I asked five friends if they’d want to get a drink someplace outdoors. Zero replies.

MY DOG: Could you toss me that tennis ball, please?

ME: I need to make some new friends.

MY DOG: You never even sniff anyone’s butt when we’re out.

ME: But it’s hard to meet people during a pandemic.

MY DOG: You’re the guy who goes around with little plastic bags collecting feces samples.

ME: Maybe I should join an online book group — what do you think?

MY DOG: I think I’ll wag my tail.

ME: But really, what I need is to get out.

MY DOG: Me too!

ME: I’m cooped up in here all the time, staring at a computer that has become my work and play stations.

MY DOG: Let’s go tear open the big bags of toys and treats they leave all along the sidewalk!

ME: And it’s making me a sedentary slob. I need to get into some kind of exercise routine.

MY DOG: Let’s go chase squirrels!

ME: Maybe I should just eat dinner early. Start the exercise thing tomorrow.

--

--

Justin Courter
Slackjaw

Justin's most recent novel is Cadenza. More about his work can be found at www.justincourter.com.