This Ink Was Taken From #MeToo Mistake To #MeTattoo Triumph

Unlike so many disgraced celebrities, my clients actually can cover up their transgressions.

Emily Clouse
Slackjaw

--

Photo: iStock

Hello. My name is Raven von Fassbender. I am an artist, activist, vegetarian, beta fish doula, and the creator of the #MeTattoo movement.

My clients come to me in a state of shame and regret over having disgraced celebrities tattooed onto their bodies, and I help them find their way back by offering my forgiveness, creativity, and not asking too many questions.

I didn’t choose this work. This work came to me, in March 2018, in the form of a man. A man with a full-thigh tattoo of television personality Ryan Seacrest.

Like many of you right now, this client was not aware of the harassment allegations against Mr. Seacrest. He had simply come into my studio for a touch-up—a spray tan and a shot of botox to the haunch.

When I asked why he’d gotten this tattoo, he said he was a big fan of the first season of American Idol, particularly the winner, Kelly Clarkson. When I asked why he hadn’t just gotten a tattoo of Ms. Clarkson, he…

--

--