Thoughts Of A Bag Of Chips Caught In A Vending Machine

A love story spiraled out of control.

Jason Hensel
Slackjaw

--

Photo by Salim Fadhley on Flickr

I started off fifth in line, but I knew I’d be the last he’d ever need. With patience, my time would come, and it is today. He always chooses Lay’s Dill Pickle Flavored Potato Chips for a late-day snack. I could be the sour to his sweet life. My body is puffed and ready for him to dip his fingers into.

He approaches. He slips in the quarters. A dime. He presses the code that will unlock our worlds and let us be together at last. We hear the motor crank, the spiral wire moves, and I’m pushed out to free fall into his hands.

The look in his eyes says something I’ve never seen before. Is it disgust? Regret? Frustration? I thought he’d… we’d be happy, finally consumed with each other. But that look. That look!

And then I notice why. I’m hanging on the edge of the spiral wire. Caught between my patience and the man I was going to give my whole life to. Is this how Juliet felt? Or Oscar? Or Eleanor? We are both at the mercy of the machine.

He’s looking around. For help? For reassurance that this is happening? “My love, it is happening!” I want to scream to him, but until he opens me up with his delicate fingers, I’m unable to find the air to breathe.

--

--

Jason Hensel
Slackjaw

Just your normal musician-editor-writer-curator-performer-photographer-director-[insert profession]-artist trying to make it in the world today.