We Came To This Isolated New England Town To Form A Militia, Not To Engage In Fun Fall Activities

Men, we want to be intimidating, not “festive,” “artsy-fartsy,” or anything that screams, “Hey, nothing to worry about here, we’re just kids playing army in the woods.”

Tod Brubaker
Slackjaw

--

Photo by James Kirkikis on Shutterstock. Bullet holes by Adam Cramer.

MEMORANDUM

TO: Green Mountain Boys

FROM: Captain Pain

SUBJECT: Maintaining Militia Discipline

My Fellow Patriots:

Over the past several weeks, I’ve observed some things that make me think you guys aren’t taking your training seriously enough. Do I need to remind you why we came to this remote corner of Vermont? We’re here to form a KICK-ASS MILITIA, not to engage in fun fall activities.

I’ve talked to you about this before, so I’ll make it easy for you guys: CEASE AND DESIST WITH THE ARTS AND CRAFTS.

Just this morning, Destroyer skipped guerrilla warfare and sabotage class to “decorate” the camp. Don’t get me wrong: sprucing up the ammo dump with a pumpkin topiary is a very creative idea. I particularly love the garland weaved with dried leaves, barbed wire, and pipe bombs. And the gourd “cartridge box” painted with skulls —…

--

--