Photo by Pixabay on Pexels

Welcome To My Clown Doll Museum

Libby Marshall
Slackjaw

--

Ahhh, welcome to my museum! Were you wandering around this half-empty strip mall looking for Thai food and stumbled into this unclearly marked storefront? And you’re now overwhelmed by the thousands of versions of one specific item that are jammed into every inch of this dreary room? No, no, you’re in the right place. This is the only museum in the world for clown dolls.

Yes, I do look like a threatening Santa Claus.

I worked as a telephone line repairman for 37 years, but my real passion was filling my home with these unblinking monstrosities. From this tiny baby Bozo to this eight-foot half-melted wax Ronald McDonald I rescued from a burning Madame Tussauds, my life is clowns. A few years ago, the city stepped in and said the smell from thousands of never-cleaned dolls was a public health hazard. So I packed up my clowns, jammed them in this vacant jewelry store, and called it a museum.

Take a look around. It’s the same painted clown face over and over again, but with tiny variations only I care about. See, look at this one. His nose is crimson rather than the traditional cherry red. And here, this one giggles when you press his belly. They only made 200 of him. Here, the jewel of my collection. It’s signed by Martin Humbert, the designer of the first Pierpont Collection clown doll, Candy Randy. Yes, he is a man you’ve never heard of…

--

--