When Human Life Definitely Begins, According to All These Different People

Diana Helmuth
Slackjaw
Published in
2 min readMay 26, 2022

--

Photo by Sander Sammy on Unsplash

The other day I sat down to pen my feelings about other people’s pregnancies, which are very important to me. However, in the midst of my creative process, I was distracted by having to constantly look up all the different certitudes about when life begins. Sensing a powerful need in the op-ed community, I decided instead to write this handy reference guide. Feel free to use it for your forthcoming New York Times opinion piece!

Evangelical Christians, 1968: “At birth.

Evangelical Christians, 1980: “At conception.

St. Thomas Aquinas, 13th century: “40 days for males and about 80 days for females.”

Pope Francis, 2016: “At conception. (But it’s OK as long as you say you’re really sorry.”)

The Bible: “Why. Who’s asking.”

St. Brigid of Kildare: “I straight up performed abortions, what do you think.”

Islamic Scholars: “120 days after conception. Europeans were never good with science.”

The Talmud: “At birth. Don’t ask her, you schmuck. She could be bloated.”

Buddhism: “At conception. Also ewwww.”

Atheists: “Depending on the loudness of the child sitting at the restaurant table next to me, 1–438…

--

--

Diana Helmuth
Slackjaw

Natn'l Outdoor Book Award winner. Post Modern Cupcake. Pretty Cool but I Cry a Lot. Author of "The Witching Year."