Why Scientist Niels Bohr Should Not Be In The Baseball Hall Of Fame

Admirable, but unworthy of induction to Cooperstown.

Tyler Gooch
Slackjaw

--

Illustration by the author

I don’t want this to come off as a dismissal of the accomplishments of Danish scientist Niels Bohr. His contributions to the understanding of the atomic structure are certainly admirable. But, is advancing quantum theory and human understanding of atomic particles really enough to enshrine someone in the Baseball Hall of Fame alongside names like Babe Ruth and Willie Mays? In my opinion, no.

And I know what Bohr fans will say, because it’s the same argument they always use: “he has more Nobel Prizes than anyone else in the hall of fame.” I’m not saying his 1922 Nobel Prize isn’t impressive. It is. But that doesn’t excuse the fact that he never won a Cy Young, NL, or AL MVP and has all of zero Golden Gloves to his name.

Not even an all-star team appearance or a World Series start.

Tell me all the feel-good stories you want about how Bohr took in refugees from Nazi Germany during the war. There are lots of good people not in the baseball hall of fame: Malala (though you could argue she should be), Mother Teresa, my neighbor Kevin, Jesus. Being an inspiring person off the field isn’t enough to get you into Cooperstown, that’s what Heaven is for. On-field performance is…

--

--

Tyler Gooch
Slackjaw

I'm a free thinker but it's a penny for my thoughts. Comedian and writer. http://tylergoo.ch