Your Cat’s Op-Ed On Your New Baby

Time for this kitty to drag that crusty mess.

James Klein
Slackjaw

--

Licensed from Shutterstock Images

Opinion Essay By Your Cat
Your Cat is the Feline Lifestyle Critic for All Things in Your House

The three of us had a good life. You adopted me as a kitten, and I considered you my parents, even if we’re not biologically related. You loved me, and doted on me, and I returned your love with purrs, and head-butts, and flops on your lap. We were happy.

Then you brought that shrieking skin-sack into our world. I’m not usually one to spill the tea, but I feel it’s my responsibility to warn everyone who is considering getting one of those things.

My opinion of your baby? Helpless and disgusting. If your baby was a movie, I’d give it one star.

Attitude? Pure disaster. Customer service? Nonexistent. Try giving the baby feedback. It’s like talking to a wall, if the wall crapped itself.

I understand the baby is your offspring, so I tried to keep an open mind. I’m not one of those jealous siblings who compete for their parents’ affection. But yeesh — baby is so much worse than I could’ve imagined. One star? That’s being generous.

How two fairly clean mammals produced that slimy blob of body fluids is a mystery. The baby’s brain is supposed to be…

--

--

James Klein
Slackjaw

My dog thinks I’m cool. Humor in McSweeney’s, Slackjaw, Points in Case, Greener Pastures, and others. All of it at jameskleinhumor.com.