You’re Invited To A Targaryen Family Reunion!

Kelley Greene
Slackjaw
Published in
4 min readSep 22, 2022

--

Image Copyright: HBO. (Fair Use.)

Greetings, extended relatives!

It is I, King Viserys Targaryen, first of his name, sending this message to you via raven. Consider this correspondence an invitation to our first ever family reunion in King’s Landing!

I believe a reunion would give us a fantastic opportunity to focus on what unites us, like our ancient Valyrian heritage, dragonriding, and marrying our own cousins — not what tears us apart, like the desire to descend into an unending intergenerational civil war that will completely destroy our legacy. So let’s get together and have some fun!

I’ll get to the details in just a moment, but first, an update on my immediate family: things are going quite well! My gorgeous daughter Princess Rhaenyra is out at Dragonstone. I do believe she will make an exemplary queen one day. Though her husband Laenor Velaryon is often away at Driftmark in the company of his young, handsome squires, she’s done a great job raising their three extremely legitimate sons.

My lovely wife Queen Alicent is doing an excellent job rearing our children here in King’s Landing. The boys are growing up so fast, and are very strong and healthy! (Please do not ask about the incident where Aemond lost his eye.) I just know she’s eventually going to fully accept Rhaenyra as my heir and stop trying to cram our son…

--

--

Kelley Greene
Slackjaw

Writer and performer based in Chicago. Sentient wheel of cheese, found online at kelleygreene.pizza or Twitter/Instagram @kelleygreene